Heading for the wonder land

Rushed post alert but I just couldn’t bring myself to not join in another week. So excuse the ramble aka hummingbird on speed-esque writing this week.

The past week has been super hectic to say the least, hence no posts last week. I was on the killer early morning shift at work and had a million things to do after work, and then trying to force myself to sleep by 10 to be up at 4. It was just one of those weeks where I could not be any gladder to see the back end of.

The weekend came around and that too was so chocker block, but including a lot of fun and laughter. Catching up and spending a really lovely evening and morning with my ever lovely, long time friend Miss LG from Family of Killers. We had a fab night in Melb city, and it was just nice to chill some. Sunday came around with more catch ups and appointments and I am seriously just as exhausted as the last before I even properly start my week.

My running around and endless appointments are not all fruitless though. This time next week we will be packing our bags up from Bangkok and heading to INDIA, New Delhi to begin with.

We will be arriving quite late Monday night and hitting the ground running nice and early Tuesday morning ready to start a wonderful adventure, of this I have no doubt.

I’m not sure just how prepared I am for what I am sure is going to be something completely unforgettable. I have heard so many stories, amazing tales of colours and sounds and buildings and culture, and then of course some not so fabulous stories. Those i’m trying not to think about though. I have had so many vaccinations though, I think, if I do happen to get anything, I’ll be the un luckiest gal on the planet!

I just can’t wait to see it all, to immerse myself in this far away culture, to dance in the street, to eat amazing food and to photograph one of the world’s seven wonders, the Taj Mahal. I have been told that the fog surrounding it can be quite overwhelming, but you know what. I don’t think its going to be possible to ruin the amazement that will be in front of my eyes.

We are also going on a jungle safari which will see us spying some tigers in the wilderness and I believe we also get to ride a elephant at some stage, which although I have done before in Thailand, it will be just as mind blowing the second time, the enormity  of those animals really wows me.

Its going to be a full on 8 days in India and then a few days down time in Bangkok city and then onto the beautiful island of Koh Samui then back to Bangkok for a few more days… then home..

I can’t even imagine what the next 3 weeks has in store for J and I, but I can tell you, I am completely and utterly excited and that’s definitely weighing out the slight trepidation that comes and goes.

Three weeks of seeing things I’ve dreamt of, places that I’ve seen in movies and travel shows and yearned to go to. I’m going to be living it.

I’ve also been scrubbing up on some photography tidbits too, I need to be able to snap it like the best of them. I can only try right?.. Putting that DSLR to good use.

Its going to be around 35-40 degrees Celsius in India, so here is hoping I haven’t melted into a giant puddle and I do actually return at some stage!

I will hopefully be able to whip up a blog post or two and most definitely post photos, I can’t wait to share my stories and photos with you. So very very excited!

Linking in with Jess for IBOT, scoot on over and check out some more lovelies.

25 thoughts on “Heading for the wonder land

  1. So exciting. I remember doing that 20 years ago. I never got sick. My tips – eat in places where the locals eat, where there is plenty of fresh food turnover. I avoided meat and didn’t drink alcohol either, but that’s me. When we arrived indehli, it was cold )January), it was so different to what I imagined. The first thing I did was order a cup,of sweet chai tea. Delicious, which was served in a teacup and saucer, hangover from the British. Have fun, it will certainly be memorable! Oh, eat lots of yoghurt too!

    • Thanks so much for the tips! I will definitely keep them in mind. Its going to be so hot.. I really hope i cope okay! Sweet chai tea sounds pretty fab to me! xx

  2. Wishing you safe travels and a wonderful wonderful time – can’t wait to hear / read all about it and see lots and lots of photos !!!
    Have a great week and here’s to surviving the last few days before you leave !
    Me

  3. JUNGLE SAFARRRRRIIIIIII!
    im so excited for you – its just what you need. relax, unwind… spend five hours in the day spa for the cost of one hour here. ZOMG jealousy xx

  4. Oh I am jealous, you will have such an amazing time an I can’t wait to read about it!

    Good luck avoiding Delhi-belly, we got so ill in Egypt that I’m forever worried about getting sick overseas these days. Drink bottled water, use bottled water to brush your teeth, eat anything fresh and hot where the food turns over quickly and avoid cold meats and salads. Oh and rice, it’s mostly fine but often they rinse the rice after it’s been cooked – that’s how I got sick in Eqypt (hubby was just an idiot and ate salad and cold meat on a boat in the Nile – stupid man, he paid for it tho!).

    • Kyla, thank you SO much for the tips, always handy to have some info from ppl who have lived it. I am planning to be extremely cautious, but I can see J just eating random crap here and there. I have warned him that if he gets sick I am carrying on without him!!! Good info about the rice as that was on my “safe” list!! xx

  5. Oh lucky you! Sounds like a fabo trip!
    Also more than a little jealous you got to hang out with Lyndal on the weekend!

    • Jess, I am more then excited for the trip. Haha yes, I was very happy to see my dear friend again! When we make our way up to qld you should come down a lil way and meet us! xxx

  6. I dream of going to India! When I was younger, I built a 3D puzzle of the Taj Mahal and promised myself I will one day go and visit… Enjoy your trip!

  7. Have a super fab trip you gorgeous thing!
    I haven’t been to India yet (silly really being so close) but I am totally utterly in love with Sri Lanka and I know they share a lot of similarities.
    Have fun, step outside the comfort zone and most importantly take lots of pics and tell us all about it x

    • Thanks Carly! Yes, you are SO close! I think you should def go! I’m so excited, every hour that ticks closer to take off .. weeeee!! I’m going to take ohh sooo many pics, I’ll have ya’ll over and a photo viewing! hahah xx

Leave a Reply

