On a mission

I have been job hunting and career hunting like a crazy lady, I have been true to my pursuit of “there’s something better out there”. Nothing has been fruitful as yet; however it has not dampened my spirits. I know there is something out there, whether it takes me a few weeks or a few months, i’m going to keep on searching, searching till I find that ‘perfect job’.

The downside to this at the moment is I am analysing everything. Every. Single. Thing. And it’s actually really frustrating me. Yep, that’s right I’m annoying myself.  I hear an add on the radio and I’m thinking to myself,” I wonder if I want to work in radio, I wonder what kind of radio, would I like to be a host or a assistant or..”. Then I see someone drive past me with their own business name scrawled on their car panels, and I’m thinking “I wonder if I should start a home business, what will I call it, I wonder if that names taken”.. And so it goes on and on.

I just can’t seem to switch off from it, which in one way it’s great, as it means I am not being complacent in my pursuit, but it also means, I’m constantly exhausting myself thinking of every little thing and scenario and job possibility.

Maybe I should start looking outside the box, I am yet to consider such things as Lion tamer, Play School presenter, abseiling window cleaner, the list really does go on…..

What would be your ideal job?

Be it extravagant, real life or just something you’ve always dreamed of.

Linking in with Jess for IBOT this week – Jump over and read some others!

25 thoughts on “On a mission

  1. I want to own my own business… a dream that keeps reoccuring and taking up every waking moment of my life atm… so I know how you feel.. its either that or I work as a checkout chick in woolies from 5-9… then the lil ones don’t need to be in full time daycare.

    #teamIBOT was here to say hello!

    • hey Yvette, yes, owning my own business is massively up there on things that take over my mind constantly. Its just finding a niche that you could fit into and start up etc etc. Check out chick isnt as glamorous BUT, if it needs to be done it needs to be done. Keep dreaming and it may come xx

  2. Right now I’m just happy to be working in this current climate, but that doesn’t stop me dreaming like you. The doors will just open and lead you down a path, i don’t think you can really pick it. Just keep dreaming and it will come.

    • Yeah, I am definitely not ungrateful for my job, I’m just hoping there is something out there in the future I can dot hat i LOVE! As you say, I will just keep dreaming and hoping and searching 🙂 x

    • Hi Catherine – thank you – I’m off to check it out. I thought about HR for a while – not your thing anymore?
      my hearts stringing me in many directions at the minute ha ha. xx

  3. I find myself so much in your post. I moved from Canada to Australia and the job and carreer hunting is an ongoing thing for me. I was happy as a lawyer back in Canada but here I’ve been struggling to find work…

    • Thats it isn’;t it, we have a stable job and we leave it and its not just so easy to slip into something else. Theres talk of moving back to Switzerland at some stage but yeah, what if there are no jobs that suit.. eeek.. I wish you luck in your pursuit xx

  4. This is the first job in my career (over close to 30 years – yes I’m old – LOL !!!) where I have been really happy and felt valued for what I bring to the company. Would I choose to be an accountant in another life ? No way ! I would love to be a pharmacist (I think !!!). I do love being a reflexologist and massage therapist but I wouldn’t do it full time – it is too draining – but I love that it is my own little business that I run out of my spare room and it makes people happy which in turn makes me happy !
    Thank you for the lovely comment you left on my blog earlier !!!
    Have the best day !
    Me

    • yeah I have always wondered if I should get into some sort of therapy also ha ha, dont worry everything crossed my ind.. actually accountant has not and I think will not!!! So good on you. Wow 30.. hahaha scary stuff! 😉
      I think we just need to find something that makes us happy, whether its doing a job we dont we dont LOVE but we know the money is helping our family etc I guess thats loving it too.. in a round about way.. I dont have kids yet, so im being selfish and wanting to love a job just for ME!
      Youre welcome re reply, and thank you for stopping in xx

  5. I would love to have my own photography business, but I’m too lazy (and too broke to spnd the $10k-$15k on equipment I’d need (yes, NEED). Hope something awesome is just around the corner lovely lady.

    • ha ha, thats something that I have been pondering a lot lately – because now I have my fancy shmancy DSLR, just try and stop me!!! If I win tatts i’ll give you it!

      xx

      • ha ha! What did you get? I have a DSLR, but it’s entry level. Want the Mark III & a few lenses. Too much to ask!?!?

      • Yeah I only have a Canon 600d but it’s pretty ace, still learning the tricks of the trade though !! Ask Santa for the Mark III Hahah xxx

  6. If I had to work, because let’s face it my ideal job doesn’t exactly exist (paid to do whatever I want whenever I want), in a perfect world I’d move back to England and go back to my old job, I miss it so much (HR looking after multiple countries across Europe, Russia & Africa).

    • That’s my ideal job too lol ..
      HR sounds very interesting, that must of been a lot of responsibility for you but wow!!.. I think id go well in HR but not sure exactly wheree to begin!!

  7. My ideal job is any job where I get to BE THE BOSS! hehehe. But at the end of the day I’m a project management freak, the way I see it, you gotta stick to what you’re good at, what you enjoy, otherwise, what’s the point? So tell me, Meagan, what are your passions? What are your skills? And what would you look for in an employer? (OMG I’m about to go on and on) For me, an employer has to be flexible, have good leave provisions including paid maternity leave (cos I just keep making babies) and I couldn’t work for myself because I need more security, more stability, someone else to blame if it all falls through 😉
    I hope you find what you’re looking for x

    • Kelly, Kelly Kelly! I wanna be the boss TOO ha ha, but not for the normal reasons, I want to be a boss to show that not all bosses are arses, that they can be fun and encouraging and courteous and kind. Because I have yet to experience this. I want to be a part of the team as much as the boss of the team. Treat people like adults and they perform as adults.
      My passion is people and helping people, my passion is not answering a million phone calls a day nor dealing with people who wouldn’t notice if the ground swallowed me up.. my passion is photography and pretty things, and not sitting in a stuffy office for 10 hours a day.. hahahah Regretting you asked ?! xxxxx

      • Not regretting at all!
        You’d make a wonderful boss. I’ve had one of those. Just one lol.
        So if I were a high school careers advisor, I’d say go and be a portrait photographer! Done. See how easy that was? Lol. If only x

Leave a Reply

